top of page

Awareness for Anxiety


Peaceful

I've been dealing with it a lot lately. More and more stress building up resulting in anxiety.

Some days I am too fearful to even leave my house or even my bed. I try to push myself to do things, but fear takes over my body and mind. Sometimes it's one thought that keeps on repeating, and other times my mind is full of reasons not to do anything. I'll be out with friends and waiting in the car and suddenly I'll get nervous and my breathing will get faster and I can't control it. I get knots in my stomach and all I can think of is running home and crawling in bed and talking to my husband.

I am not lazy, I simply do not know how to take control of the anxiety. I do not know what to do to change that way of thinking.

So I did some research and got some useful tips. I am not a professional and I know that not everything that works for me, works for everyone else. But even if I can help just one person, it would have been worth sharing. So here are some tips to help you if you suffer from anxiety disorder:

1. Talk to a therapist

Getting professional help is always best when dealing with serious mental illness. They can give you real help to process the situation and your feelings. They can help you learn how to cope with things.

2. Talk with a trusted friend or family member

It's always great having a close friend. But when dealing with anxiety, this is even more important. A person who you feel safe with can make a big difference in controlling the anxiety.

3. Try to have a trusted friend with you

Having someone close by when going to certain places or meeting new people can make you feel more secure and can help you express yourself when feeling uncomfortable.

On the other hand, there are things you can do when you know someone with anxiety. Here are some tips to support people who have anxiety disorder:

1. Be understanding

People with anxiety are not likely to tell you straight up what they are feeling. They will often feel like they are burdening you by telling you their problems. Listen to what is being said, be empathetic and show understanding.

2. Do research

By doing research, you will gain a better understanding of what is going on with the person suffering from anxiety; especially if that person is a family member or a close friend.

3. Show you care

Your words and actions can show that you truly care. Do not accuse them of things that might hurt. Instead, use a friendly tone, be positive and be there for them.

Just remember, I am not talking about a healthy amount of fear such as when you're nervous for a test, but unhealthy anxiety after having to deal with too much pressure and stress from a job or personal problems.

When experiencing anxiety regularly, it is possible you may have anxiety disorder. Only real professionals can determine this, so if you are experiencing unusual anxiety, please contact a therapist.

For international mental health hotlines, click here.

Stay happy and healthy!

Florence

PLAIN FLOWERS ARTICLES

bottom of page