top of page

Explore 8 New Zealand Destinations


Map New Zealand

Since October of 2015 I've been living in New Zealand. The main reason being my husband. But I have no reason to complain, because this is a beautiful country. I have tried to visit some places, but by far not as many as I would like to see. So for this article I thought I would share a list of the most beautiful places that I want to visit in New Zealand.

I do want to let you know this is not a complete list and that these are merely the places I want to see. I have seen some places which will not be on the list. I am also open to more suggestions. I hope I can add some destinations to your bucket list!

1. Queenstown

Queenstown is possible one of the most touristic places in New Zealand, and with reason! It is naturally beautiful, located between the mountains. The fact that it is touristic also helps when it comes to attractions. There are heaps of fun attractions for all ages. Personally I would be out hiking every day, or even snowboarding. But if you need an adrenaline rush it is possible to go bungy jumping or skydiving too.

2. Tekapo

Tekapo is very high on my personal list. It is named one of the clearest places for stargazing! The photo's are amazing, but I can only imagine how it will look in real life. You can do an observatory tour where you'll be guided and equipped for the best possible experience. Here is some more information.

3. Wellington

Being the capital of New Zealand, Wellington is a must see. The one thing I really want to see here is Te Papa Tongarewa, the national museum. The museum is almost 20 years old and is rich with New Zealand history. The Maori name means 'container of treasures', which may be one of the most perfect names for this museum.

4. Abel Tasman National Park

Being Dutch, Abel Tasman has my interest. He was a Dutch seafarer and the first European to find New Zealand. I may have a love-hate relationship with history in general, but this gets my attention.

Abel Tasman National Park is a beautiful piece of land, perfect to relax. It is not very big, which I think is a good thing. You can enjoy different kinds of scenery within a couple of hours of hiking and kayaking.

5. Milford Sound

Milford Sound is a fiord located in Fiordland National Park. Since a few years I have wanted to see fiords. And when I found out they are right here too, I was very happy! Sadly I have not had the time to see them yet.

At the Fiorland National Park you can enjoy tours and cruises to see the full area. The beautiful mountains surrounding the quiet water is simply peaceful and breathtaking.

6. Hokitika Gorge

This gorge is one of those places which you think are fake until you see it yourself. The water is so blue, it looks as if it came straight from a cartoon. There are lots of hikes around this area. You can even go swimming! It is a beautiful, natural spot to enjoy for a day out.

7. Kaikoura

Yes, this is the place where the earthquake hit last year. The town is almost fully back as it was before. One of the things I want to do is a kayaking tour. It is about half a day. And you want to know the best part? There are seals and dolphins around the area! You can also go whale-watching and enjoy lots of other activities.

8. Aoraki/Mount Cook

Mount Cook is the highest mountain in New Zealand. Logically all you can do is walk or fly around it. But mountains are amazing. They are immense and the view is breathtaking. And it gives you a real workout to hike up!

Now you know what I want to see of this small part of the world. New Zealand has way more to offer and I will always encourage anyone to travel. Experience the world and grow richer! I think that is one of the best things we can do with our lives.

Thanks for reading my thoughts :) Stay curious,

Florence

PLAIN FLOWERS ARTICLES

bottom of page